Still don’t like QA

Quick disclosure: Personal opinion, not much to learn about QA around here.

So, we have this Quality Assurance Chapter. To be honest I don’t like the topic, not yet, but let me tell you why. I have this course called, Quality Assurance, may be it has something to do with this blogpost. This class happens to be he only one with twice as credits as the other ones, so it’s twice as expensive. What I don’t like about that course in specific is that it’s basically just theory, which I get; it’s important in order to practice it well in real life, but! But ladies and gentlemen, guess the audience of that class. That’s right! Undergraduates! You guessed it. Ok too much feeling in here. What I’m trying to say is that, we haven’t seen any specific tool, or even practice in order to test. For instance unit-testing! I’ve seen more testing in my Advance Programming course than in that one. I think that, being undergraduates and students in general, we should’ve seen it more practically. We should’ve learned how to make quality code, and how to ensure its quality by testing it. In my opinion, that course name should’ve been QA Management.

Why am I writing this down? Why is this related with what I learned from the book? What can you learn from this post? The answers will come in a minute, but I just wanted to express myself. I really feel disappointed with the Tec; I really wanted to learn a lot from that course. Please don’t get me wrong, it’s not the professors fault, not at all, he makes an outstanding work there. I feel that every little aspect of that course came in together to form this really really bas experience.

Why am I writing this down? As my current Project Management professor says, I need to publish my voice, get it outside and let people know what I’m doing. Currently, I feel like I’m the only one, probably a phew more, paying attention and investing myself in that course in order to get something out of it, and I am! It’s just not what I wanted to. I am making an effort, so that the people in charge of managing that course can make something about it and you, the reader again, if you haven’t taken that course, wait till it’s fixed or just get yourself in the mindset that you won’t see anything practical and learn it in your own way.

Why is this related with what I learned from the book? Cause I’m not kidding when I tell you it’s everything we’ve seen. The QA Plan, the “V” model (developing/testing being parallel), measurable criteria, QA teams and how to manage them, etc… That course is full of this chapter, that’s what I like about it. I don’t hate it. I do think it’s useful, I just think it is not the approach I think we need as students right now. What can you learn from this post? Probably that speaking up is good. I’m not saying that I’ll get results from this post. I’ve talk already with the people in charge of the courses and explained my point of view, cause at the end it’s just an opinion, by no means I’m saying I’m correct; so if something happens it will be cause I talked about it with someone, I wrote about it so that it can be recorded and hopefully someone else did as well.

 

SpeakUp

 

That’s it for this one guys. Love you.

 

 

 

Leave a comment